COMING SOON – Year of the Rat 2020

In celebration of the upcoming Chinese Lunar New Year, the Bureau of Engraving and Printing (BEP) is pleased to announce the newest addition to its Lucky Money Collection – Year of the Rat 2020!

The “rat” is one of 12 zodiac signs associated with the Chinese Lunar Calendar and symbolizes optimism and positivity. Year of the Rat 2020 is exquisitely designed with decorative Chinese symbolism and is packaged in a symbolic, red folder with embossed, gold foil. This product features an uncirculated, $1 Federal Reserve note with a serial number beginning with “8888.”

The first day of sale is Wednesday, December 11, 2019 at 12 p.m. (ET). The purchase price is $5.95; only 108,888 will be available for sale. Household quantity purchase limit restrictions of 250 units will be imposed for the first day of release. On December 12, 2019, household purchase restrictions will be waived.

The Year of the Rat 2020 and other BEP currency products may be purchased through the U.S. Mint (Mint) by telephone, toll free, at 1(800) USA-MINT (872-6468), at Mint retail locations, and through the Mint’s online store at Customers are encouraged to set up a Mint store website account in order to easily check their order status and to track packages. BEP currency products are also available in BEP’s Washington, DC and Fort Worth, Texas Visitor Center gift shops. For information about bulk pricing in quantities of 1,000 or more, contact the BEP at 1(800) 456-3408.

Unprecedented $50 Mil. Gold Eagles Tyrant Collection Exhibit

(Long Beach, California) – A never-before seen exhibit of United States $10 Eagle gold coins from the extensive Tyrant Collection ( will be publicly displayed at the February 20-22, 2020 Long Beach Coin, Currency, Stamp & Sports Collectibles Expo (

The unprecedented display, “Eagles of The Tyrant Collection,” will showcase examples of every business strike and most of the proof Eagles from 1795 to 1933, including varieties. This unparalleled set will be insured for $50 million for its debut exhibition.

“This is the first collection of gold Eagles to include all 33 BD (Bass-Dannreuther) and T (Taraszka) varieties of 1795 to 1804. Even the famous collections of Harry W. Bass and Anthony J. Taraszka were both short of that goal,” said Ira Goldberg, President of Goldberg Coins and Collectibles, Inc. ( in Los Angeles, California.

1795 13 Leaves $10

Graded PCGS MS66+, this 1795 13 Leaves variety $10 gold coin is the finest known and one of the many highlights in the unprecedented $50 million “Eagles of The Tyrant Collection” exhibit at the February 2020 Long Beach Expo.
(Photo credit: Professional Coin Grading Service

“There will be more than 300 historic Eagles in this extraordinary exhibit in custom-built, well-lit display cases. They are all part of The Tyrant Collection, the world’s most valuable rare coin collection in private hands,” explained Goldberg who is among those who have helped the anonymous Tyrant Collection owner build the collection.

The 1804 proof Eagle in the upcoming display is from the legendary King of Siam proof set. The Tyrant Collection holdings include the entire fabled set of coins given by a U.S. State Department representative to the King of Siam (now Thailand) in 1836 as a diplomatic gift on behalf of President Andrew Jackson. That full set will be displayed at a future Long Beach Expo.

The 1804 Plain 4 variety $10 gold coin from the fabled King of Siam proof set will be displayed in the $50 million “Eagles of The Tyrant Collection” exhibit at the February 2020 Long Beach Expo.
(Photo credit: Lyle Engleson/Goldberg Coins and Collectibles.)

Well-known professional numismatist and award-winning researcher and author, John Dannreuther, will assist in the cataloging of The Tyrant Collection Eagles for the upcoming exhibit.

“The early Eagles in the exhibit will be presented in Taraszka order, which is the issuing sequence. Some coins were struck out of date order. For example, both 1798 varieties were struck before the three 1797 Large Eagle varieties. There also is one 1803 variety struck after the 1804 Crosslet 4 variety,” explained Dannreuther.

Highlights of the February 2020 display of U.S. $10 gold coins include:

  • 1795 13 Leaves, graded PCGS MS66+, finest known and formerly in the Garrett and Pogue collections.
  • 1795 9 Leaves, PCGS AU50
  • 1804 Plain 4, King of Siam, PCGS PR64 Cameo
  • 1838, PCGS PR65, tied for finest of only three known examples.
  • 1839/8 Proof PR67, the finest of only three known.
  • 1858, PCGS MS64+
  • 1933, PCGS MS65

Although the owner of The Tyrant Collection wants to remain anonymous, he is sharing the collection’s coins for their educational value, one portion at a time, in a continuing series of pubic exhibits.

A superb condition 1933 $10 gold coins will be among the more than 300 historic coins in the extraordinary $50 million “Eagles of The Tyrant Collection” exhibit at the February 2020 Long Beach Expo.
(Photo credit: Lyle Engleson/Goldberg Coins and Collectibles.)

Visitors to the upcoming display at the Long Beach Expo (booth #807) can receive a free, illustrated educational booklet about the display. Detailed catalogs with information and superb illustrations about each coin in the “Eagles of The Tyrant Collection” exhibit will be available for $10 each.

The Long Beach Expo will be open to the public in the Long Beach, California Convention Center, 100 S. Pine Ave., Thursday and Friday, February 20 and 21, 2020, from 10 am to 6 pm, and Saturday, February 22, from 10 am to 4 pm.

Get BLOG updates via email:
Delivered by FeedBurner


Red Cross National Voluntary Organizations Active In Disaster Thousands of booksellers - millions of books.
Get NEWS updates via email:
Delivered by FeedBurner

Member of The Internet Defense League

Pin It on Pinterest