Every year, the American Numismatic Association (ANA) recognizes members who go above and beyond with their service and dedication in numismatics. Awards are given to those who display a passion for the hobby, a willingness to expand it and a pride in being involved. The following awards will be presented at the Chicago World’s Fair of Money® in Rosemont, Ill., during the Member and Awards Celebration, Aug. 15.

The Adna G. Wilde Jr. Memorial Award for Exemplary Service recognizes ANA members who dedicate their time and resources to further the educational purposes of the Association and the hobby, and who set an example for others.

The award this year will be presented to life member Kerry K. Wetterstrom of Millersville, Penn.

Kerry K. WetterstromWetterstrom joined the ANA in 1974 at age 14. The recipient of a young numismatic scholarship, he attended the ANA Summer Seminar in Colorado Springs in 1979. Not long after, Wetterstrom actively began recruiting new members and making charitable donations of cash and numismatic material to the Association. He became a life member in 1986.

Since 1996, he has served as president, secretary, treasurer, education chair and bourse chair for four international, regional and local organizations. In addition, he is a member of more than 15 other numismatic groups. Over the past two decades, he has written many articles for educational publications and also is a contributing editor for The Numismatist.

Named a Numismatic News Numismatic Ambassador in 1998, Wetterstrom has demonstrated his passion for promoting the hobby in the ANA’s District Representative Program, in which he served for many years in local and regional capacities. He has delivered informative lectures to audiences in 12 states; presents three to four educational programs annually to clubs in central Pennsylvania; and speaks to school classrooms and civic organizations. He has taught courses at the ANA Summer Seminar for more than 20 years and has been an ANA exhibit judge since 1996.

The Medal of Merit is bestowed on members who have dedicated years of service to numismatics.

H. Robert CambellThe medal is being presented to coin dealer and ANA Past President H. Robert Cambell. At age 11, he became a collector, and not long after founded a club with four boys from his neighborhood. By 21 he had turned a hobby into his profession.

Since 1996, the knowledgeable dealer has taught courses on counterfeit, altered and artifically toned coins at the Association’s Summer Seminar. In recognition of his years of teaching collectors, Campbell received an honorary “Doctor of Numismatics” degree at the event in 2016.

First elected to the ANA Board of Governors in 1997, Campbell became president just two years later. During this time, he testified before a U.S. Senate committee that was studying U.S. coinage design practices. He’s remained active in the ANA, serving on the Advisory Council since 2001.

In 2007 Campbell chaired the state committee to select potential designs for Utah’s entry in the U.S. Mint’s 50 State Quarters® program. He has contributed to A Guide Book of United States Coins (the “Red Book”) and the Coin Dealer Newsletter. His 2014 book, Utah Trade Tokens, is considered the go-to reference on the topic and received a Numismatic Literary Guild award for “Best Token and Medal Book.”

Campbell owns and operates a successful firm, All About Coins, Inc., which he used to frequent as a young collector. He belongs to and has led almost every coin club in the state. Campbell has received numerous accolades during his decades in the hobby. Most notably, Numismatic News recognized him as a Numismatic Ambassador in 1988, and he received an ANA Glenn Smedley Memorial Award in 1999.

Magdalena Dobrucka The Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture recognizes an individual whose imaginative compositions transcend circulating coins. This year’s recipient is Magdalena Dobrucka of Poland.

Dobrucka studied medal engraving at the Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw in 1971-76, where she learned the basics of low relief. Dobrucka says her work is characterized by deep relief, which is not typical of medals, and that each piece represents her search for an unconventional solution.

The accomplished artist has won numerous awards, and her work is part of many private and museum collections. She has participated in every exhibition sponsored by the International Art Medal Federation since 1976 and has been a member of the organization since 1993. In 1994 she was surprised and honored to win its Grand Prix for her cast bronze medal The Violoncellist. She also is proud of her Columbus quincentenary medal, the 57th issue of the American Numismatic Society (ANS). Her highly sculptural design was selected in an international competition that elicited more than 100 entries from 16 countries.

Dobrucka says her art is inspired by humanity, and every award she has received “is a joy and encouragement for [my] work.”

Harry J. Forman Dealer of the Year honors a professional numismatist who shows uncommon dedication to strengthening the hobby and the ANA, and displays exemplary ethical standards as a numismatic dealer.

Mark Salzberg is this year’s recipient. As chairman and grade finalizer at Numismatic Guaranty Corporation (NGC) and chairman and co-founder of Certified Collectibles Group, the dealer’s numismatic roots run deep.

Mark SalzbergBorn in Flemington, New Jersey, Salzberg became interested in collecting at age seven, when he received a 1903 Indian Head cent. His father gave him his first coin book, and a lifelong passion began.

He was hired by John Albanese to work in a local coin shop only four years later. When Albanese founded NGC in 1987, he asked his longtime friend to join his new company. Salzberg started as a grading finalizer in 1988, became president in 1991, and was promoted to CEO in 1998.

Salzberg worked as a vest-pocket dealer in high school and during his time as a college student. “I was making more money than the teachers,” he recalls. In 1978 he became a full-time dealer.

A member of the Professional Numismatists Guild, Salzberg is serious about hobby education. He has been an instructor at the ANA Summer Seminar and avidly supports its programs. In 1998 he was presented an ANA Presidential Award, and he was named the ANA’s Numismatist of the Year in 2006.

The American Numismatic Association is a congressionally chartered, nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging the study and collection of coins and related items. The ANA helps its 25,000 members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of educational and outreach programs as well as its museum, library, publications, and conventions. For more information, call 719-632-2646 or visit www.money.org.

Pin It on Pinterest

%d bloggers like this: