Distinguished Numismatists Honored with Service Awards

Recipients recognized at Denver World’s Fair of Money® Awards Banquet

The recipients of the American Numismatic Association’s (ANA) 2017 Farran Zerbe Memorial Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, Elvira Clain-Stefanelli Memorial Award, Numismatist of the Year Award, Harry J. Forman Dealer of the Year Award, Burnett Anderson Memorial Award for Excellence in Numismatic Writing, and the Numismatic Hall of Fame inductee, will be formally recognized at the upcoming World’s Fair of Money awards banquet, which takes place Aug. 4 at 7 p.m. at the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel in the Grand Ballroom.

The Farran Zerbe Memorial Award

Brian Fanton will receive the ANA’s highest honor, the Farran Zerbe Memorial Award for Distinguished Service. Fanton’s careers in telecommunications and numismatics—along with his personal interests in collecting Civil War tokens and racing and rebuilding British sports cars—have combined to create a well-rounded professional with a fun-loving, can-do attitude.

Fanton’s passion for history began when he was in grade school. An interest in numismatics followed in 1952, when his grand­father, Clarence L. (“CL”) Stewart, gave him A Guide Book of United States Coins (R.S. Yeoman’s essential “Red Book”) and an 1857-S Seated Liberty quarter for his birthday. The coin held special significance for Fanton, as his grandfather had acquired it overseas during World War II.

For Brian, numismatics has provided a fascinating, hands-on approach to history and has allowed him to meet interesting people of a wide variety of ages and backgrounds. “All collectors are related through coins,” he says, adding that “every one is the cousin I haven’t met.”

Lifetime Achievement Award

Julian Leidman will be awarded the ANA’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Born in Albany, New York, Leidman’s parents introduced him to numismatics through some coins his mother owned. “She instilled in me the tangible link to the past that numismatics offers,” he says. The young collector soon began searching through pocket change and bank-wrapped rolls.

He credits his longtime associate and friend Albert L. Bonan with helping develop his career. When he retired in 1991, Leidman took over the store Bonan and his father had opened in the early 1960s.

Leidman believes aspiring hobbyists should define their focus if they wish to achieve the greatest success. As dealer Jerry Cohen once told him, “There are more coins than anyone has money for.” Leidman adds that, unless an individual is incredibly well-to-do, he or she should set an attainable goal and establish acquisition parameters. “I urge people to examine numismatics thoroughly and to investigate the economics involved in forming a given collection. It’s important to choose a topic that generates the most personal enthusiasm.”

Elvira Clain-Stefanelli Memorial Award

Charmy Harker will receive the ANA’s Elvira Clain-Stefanelli Memorial Award. Unlike many numismatists, Harker began collecting later in life. She was introduced to the hobby after inheriting a group of coins from her aunt. Knowing very little about numismatics, she chose to focus solely on Indian Head cents and devoured every book and article she could find on the pieces. She ultimately turned her interest into a full-time business and today is well-known in the hobby as “The Penny Lady.”

Numismatist of the Year Award

David W. Lange will be awarded the ANA’s Numismatist of the Year Award. A renown author and researcher, David Lange is adept in a wide variety of numismatic areas. The longtime collector specializes in United States type coins, Philippine coins and notes from 1903 to 1945, and British coins from 1816 to 1970. He pioneered the study of coin-collecting boards and folders, writing three volumes and designing and maintaining a website on the subject.

A gifted writer, Lange received his first literary recognition more than 30 years ago and has gone on to collect many more awards, including 19 from the Numismatic Literary Guild. He has written nine books since 1992 (three for Whitman Publishing), and has appeared in the acknowledgments of at least a dozen other works. Lange has authored approximately 200 feature articles for nearly 20 numismatic journals and publications, and has been a columnist for The Numismatist since 1988.

Harry J. Forman Dealer of the Year Award

Anthony Terranova, of Brooklyn, New York, will be awarded the ANA’s Dealer of the Year Award. Having started his numismatic business in Manhattan in 1977, this consummate professional considers himself fortunate to be earning a living doing what he loves. “I made my avocation my vocation,” he says. Possessing a passion for numismatic education, Terranova enjoys sharing what he’s learned with hobby newcomers. “I tell them the same thing anybody would tell them: Find a series of coins that speaks to you and then pursue it. Read as many books as you can on the subject, and learn about it.”

While he encourages collectors to find more information through books and the Internet, Terranova stresses the importance of joining local clubs and organizations. “There’s nothing like talking with someone in person who shares your same views and interests. It helps you realize you’re not the only nut out there.”

Burnett Anderson Memorial Award for Excellence in Numismatic Writing

Donn Pearlman will receive the ANA’s Burnett Anderson Memorial Award for Excellence in Numismatic Writing. When it comes to numismatic news, Donn is well-known for getting the scoop. The recovery of the sunken S.S. Central America treasure, the discovery and sale of the fifth 1913 Liberty Head nickel and the unearthing of the Saddle Ridge Hoard all made headlines—both in the hobby and nationally—because of the veteran communicator’s work. As an author, his byline has appeared on numerous feature stories and columns in COINage, Coins, Coin World, Numismatic News, The Numismatist and World Coin News.

Donn previously served two terms on the ANA Board of Governors and has been a featured educational speaker at numismatic conventions in the United States, Australia and Singapore. Today, he owns and operates a public relations firm in Las Vegas that has been a boon to the ANA, professional numismatists and the hobby at large.

Numismatic Hall of Fame

Ray Dillard will be inducted into the Numismatic Hall of Fame. He began collecting coins in the late 1960s, and in the mid-1980s he started to bring his elongating machine to ANA conventions. An author, collector and trend-setting patriarch, Dillard is a life member of the ANA and belongs to a variety of numismatic organizations, such as The Elongated Collectors, the Maryland State Numismatic Association and the Flint Flying Eagle Coin Club, to name a few.

Dillard’s goal is to live to be 110. “Everyone lives to be 100, and I have work piled up to last at least ‘til then,” he says.

The American Numismatic Association is a congressionally chartered, nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging the study and collection of coins and related items. The ANA helps its 25,000 members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of instructional and outreach programs, as well as its museum, library, publications and conventions. For more information, call 719-632-2646 or visit www.money.org.

Pin It on Pinterest

%d bloggers like this: