Recipients recognized at the World’s Fair of Money® Awards Banquet and Member Donor Reception

The following individuals were formally recognized at the World’s Fair of Money for their contributions to the hobby and the American Numismatic Association (ANA) on Aug. 3 during the Member Donor Reception and at the Aug. 4 Awards Banquet.

The Adna G. Wilde, Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence honors an ANA member who dedicates his or her time and resources to strengthen the hobby and further the educational mission of the ANA, and sets an example for others to follow.

  • Ken Bressett, an ANA life member and New Hampshire native, was introduced to numismatics at age 8, when a neighbor presented him with a few coins to start his own collection. He often visited museums and viewed private collections, gaining an appreciation of coin design and manufacture. By the 1950s, Bressett had become a noted authority on numismatic history, colonial and state coinages, and authentication.

    “Adna Wilde has long been one of my most admired numismatic friends,” says Bressett. “Receiving this award in his memory will be cherished by me forever, and a constant reminder of his dedication to the ANA and his quest to promote friendship and knowledge by his actions and deeds. His ethics and values have set a standard that everyone should attempt to emulate.”

The Exemplary Service Award recognizes an individual or entity (club, corporation, firm or association) that has performed services on behalf of the ANA that are “above and beyond” the call.

  • Patrick A. Heller, a collector since 1964 and a dealer since 1981, Heller received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Michigan in 1974 and worked as a certified public accountant until 1981, when he became president of Liberty Coin Service in Lansing, Michigan. He assumed sole ownership of the business in 1995.

    Heller has supported the hobby through speaking, writing, radio programs and sponsorships. He has served on numismatic committees and as an exhibit judge; contributed to numismatic reference books; and encouraged his staff’s research efforts.

The Medal of Merit recognizes individuals who have dedicated numerous years of service to the Association and promotion of the hobby.

  • Eric Holcomb of Bend, Oregon, has contributed his time and efforts to the numismatic community for more than 25 years. He has held various positions in numerous clubs, most notably serving as president of the Tacoma-Lakewood Coin Club (1990-93), Boeing Employees Coin Club (BECC) (1991, 1994, 1995), Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association (PNNA) (1994-98), Seattle Numismatic Society (2000-02) and the Bend Coin Club of Central Oregon (2012-present).
  • Scott Rottinghaus began collecting in high school and joined the Association in 1985. The University of Cambridge graduate served three consecutive terms on the ANA Board of Governors (2009-15) and has authored more than 33 numismatic articles, including nine for The Numismatist. He also wrote a number of “Ancients” columns for the latter in 2012-14.

The Glenn Smedley Memorial Award is presented to hobbyists who have devoted their efforts to the betterment of the ANA.

  • James P. Reinders of Portland, Oregon, was recognized for his significant volunteer contributions and support of the ANA and many youth programs. An ANA life member, Reinders is extremely active in numismatics on the West Coast; he is the past president of the Pacific Northwest Numismatic Association (PNNA) and currently serves as Co-chairman on the Committee.
  • Frank Passic hails from Albion, Michigan, and has been a pillar of support in the numismatic community for nearly 50 years. He is the founder of the Lithuanian Numismatic Association, and the editor of the numismatic publication The Knight. Passic received the Catherine Sheehan Literary Award in 1999 for his article “The Albion Bank Scandal,” and was honored with an ANA Presidential Award in 2002.
  • Daniel “Tiny” Cross of Bolivar, Missouri, embodies the spirit of numismatic volunteerism. He was a fixture at the ANA’s Summer Seminar from 2006 until his “retirement” in 2016, and was a looked-for presence at every Summer Seminar YN Auction, where he assisted in calling the sale. Cross has distinguished himself by establishing programs that attract collectors from outside the mainstream.
  • Kari Brower of Brick, New Jersey, has been a dedicated and deeply involved numismatist for over 40 years. She is an active member of the Ocean Country Coin Club (OCCC), serving as the Youth Activities Program Coordinator at their yearly coin shows, monthly club meetings, and during National Coin Week. Brower truly exemplifies the spirit behind the Glenn Smedley Award, and is seen as one of the most giving hobbyists when it comes to advancing numismatics at every avenue.
  • Ann Bobrofsky of Battle Creek, Michigan, has lived a life of dedicated service. She has become an indispensable figure to the Michigan State Numismatic Society (MSNS), where she served in elected offices as secretary, director, vice president and president, and in appointed offices as convention

Recognizing Membership Efforts The John and Nancy Wilson Member Booster Award recognizes an ANA member who recruited the most members for the Association.

  • This year’s recipient of the John and Nancy Wilson Booster Award is Mark Lighterman, who sponsored 64 new members.

The Century Club Award honors ANA members who sponsor 100 new members cumulatively for the Association.

  • The newest member of the Century Club is Scott Travers, who sponsored more than 100 new members for the Association.

The American Numismatic Association is a congressionally chartered, nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging the study and collection of coins and related items. The ANA helps its 25,000 members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its array of instructional and outreach programs, as well as its museum, library, publications and conventions. For more information, call 719-632-2646 or visit

Pin It on Pinterest

%d bloggers like this: